King Charles has arrived in Kenya on his first Commonwealth state visit

Making this his first Commonwealth visit as King.
Loading the player...

King Charles III has marked a milestone moment in his Kingship, arriving at his first Commonwealth state visit to Kenya. Following in his late mother, Queen Elizabeth II’s, footsteps, touring the English Royal Family’s Commonwealth countries. 

Queen Consort Camilla was supporting Charles by his side, wearing a statement pearl white dress with a matching pearl brooch.

WATCH NOW: The Royal Family appear on the balcony after King Charles III’s coronation. Article continues after video.

King Charles Kenya Commonwealth State visit

Charles arrived in Kenya on October 31, marking the 60th anniversary since Kenya became a republic on December 12, 1963. Acknowledging the past in his speech to Kenya’s president, William Ruto

“In coming back to Kenya, it matters greatly to me that I should deepen my own understanding of these wrongs, and that I meet some of those whose lives and communities were so grievously affected,” he stated.

Charles continued, “None of this can change the past. But by addressing our history with honesty and openness we can, perhaps, demonstrate the strength of our friendship today. And, in so doing, we can, I hope, continue to build an ever-closer bond for the years ahead.”

RELATED || King’s plea to sons: it’s time to heal

King Charles on his state visit to Kenya with their president, William Ruto. (Credit: Getty)

English Commonwealth meaning

The term Commonwealth came from the 15th-century Latin translation of Res Publica. Two centuries later, it evolved into Common Weal, where a supreme power was in charge of its people.

In 1949 ^he Commonwealth of Nations was formed for countries to stay in the protection of the Commonwealth, but drop the British monarch as their Head of State.

RELATED || Royal family banned from 175 year old hunting tradition

From left to right: General Smuts (South Africa), Mr. Mackenzie King (Canada), Mr. Winston Churchill (United Kingdom), Mr. J. Curtin (Australia) and Mr. Peter Fraser (New Zealand). (Credit: Getty)

How many countries are in the Commonwealth of Nations?

56 countries are included in The Commonwealth of Nations, grouped into five locations.


1. Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Gabon, Gambia, The, Ghana, Kenya, Kingdom of Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Togo, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania and Zambia.

2. Asia: Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore and Sri Lanka.

3. Caribbean and Americas: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, The, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent And The Grenadines and Trinidad And Tobago.

4. Europe: Cyprus, Malta and the United Kingdom.

5. Pacific: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

The flags of Commonwealth countries pictured. (Credit: Getty)

Who left the Commonwealth of Nations?

The only republic states which have left the English Commonwealth are Ireland and Zimbabwe. Ireland left in 1948 and Zimbabwe left recently in 2003.

(Not including the states that have left the Commonwealth of Nations but have come back since.)

RELATED || King Charles set to reunite with Archie and Lilibet for 75th birthday

Related stories